CCA CEO Dymphna van der Lans spoke at COP27 about reducing cooking emissions to meet NDCs.Watch the video now!

Regional Testing and Knowledge Centers

Regional Testing and Knowledge Centers (RTKCs) provide assurances on technology performance and quality for manufacturers, customers, and other stakeholders.

RTKCs also support local producers and manufacturers to improve products, communicate performance to customers, and provide training and other resources to catalyze stoves and fuels activities.

This list includes organizations that are focused on a cookstoves and fuels testing and/or design. Please contact the testing organizations directly about potential collaborations or to find out what testing services they may offer. The Clean Cooking Alliance (CCA) does not certify testing organizations and provides this list as information for our partners.

To suggest additional organizations to include, please contact CCA at info@cleancooking.org.


A green dot indicates that this testing organization has a Conflict of Interest Policy and/or a Quality Assurance Information/ISO 17025 Certification is available to share upon request.

  • Conflict of Interest Policy – Describes an organization’s policies around technology neutrality and providing independent, third-party testing
  • Quality Assurance – Describes an organization’s plan for maintaining equipment, calibration, record keeping, and other procedures to ensure high quality, reliable testing

NameCountryLocationPoint of ContactEmailConflict of Interest PolicyQuality Assurance
Aprovecho Research Center United StatesCottage Grove, OregonDean Stilldeankstill@gmail.com
Asia Regional Cookstove Program (ARECOP)
IndonesiaYogyakartaChristina Aristanti Tjondroputrochristina@arecop.org

Asian Institute of Technology
ThailandKhlong NuengNguyen Thi Kim Oanhkimoanh@ait.ac.th

Bangladesh Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
BangladeshDhakaMohammad Roufroufmd@yahoo.com

Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology
BangladeshDhakaMd Mominur Rahmanmrrahman@che.buet.ac.bd

Beijing University of Chemical Technology (BUCT)
ChinaBeijingGuangging Liuguangging.liu@gmail.com

Berkeley Air Monitoring Group
United StatesBerkeleyDavid Pennisedpennise@berkeleyair.com
Bureau of Mines and Energy Improved Cooking Technology Program
HaitiPort au PrinceJean Robert Altidorcsaaltidor@gmail.com

Burn Design Lab
United StatesVashon Island, WashingtonPaul Meanspaul@burndesignlab.org
Centre for Integrated Research and Community Development Uganda (CIRCODU)
UgandaKampalaJoseph Arineitwe Ndemerejosephndemere@gmail.com
Centre for Research in Energy and Energy Conservation (CREEC)
UgandaKampalaAgnes Naluwaggaanaluwaga@creec.or.ug
Centre for Rural Technology, Nepal (CRT/N)
NepalKathmanduGanesh Ram Shresthaganesh@crtnepal.org
Centre for Studies and Research on Renewable Energy Kitsisa Khonde (CERERK)
Congo, Democratic RepublicKinshasaOscar Mulumbaml_oscar@hotmail.com

China Agricultural University (CAU)
ChinaBeijingYuguang Zhouzhouyg@cau.edu.cn

Clarkson University
United StatesPotsdam, New YorkPhillip Hopkephopke@clarkson.edu
Clean Cookstoves Development and Testing Center
NigeriaAfikpoOkechukwu Ugwuokey@iceednigeria.org
Colorado State University
United StatesFort Collins, ColoradoJohn Miziajohn.mizia@colostate.edu
Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
GhanaAccraGabriel Nii Laryeagabniilar@yahoo.com

Dili Institute of Technology (DIT)
Timor-LesteDiliLidio Inacio Freitasif_lidio@yahoo.com

GERES Biomass Energy Lab (G-BEL)
CambodiaPhnom PenhGuillaume Monceauxg.monceaux@geres.eu
GIZ /EnDev Mozambique
MozambiqueRosario Loayza Cortezrosario.loayza@giz.de
GIZ Ethiopia
EthiopiaAlemayehu Zelekealemayehu.zeleke@giz.de

Indian Institute of Technology-Delhi (IIT-Delhi)
IndiaNew DelhiRajendra Prasadrprasadiitd@gmail.com

Institute of Heating Technology and Industrial Ecology
MongoliaUlaanbaatarB. Jargalsaikhanjagaa.iteie@gmail.com

Instituto de Investigacion e Innovación en Energías Renovables (UNICACH)
MexicoTuxtla Gutiérrez, ChiapasNeín Farrera Vázqueznein.farrera@unicach.mx

Iowa State University
United StatesAmes, IowaMark Brydenkmbryden@iastate.edu

Kenya Industrial Research and Development Institute (KIRDI) Stove Testing Centre
KenyaNairobiNathan Bogonkonbogonko@gmail.com
Laboratorio de Certificación de Cocinas Mejoradas (SENCICO)
PeruLimaMaria Mercedes Vilcapoma Sarmientomvilcapoma@sencico.gob.pe
Laboratorios Ministerio de Energia y Minas de Guatemala
GuatemalaGuatemala CityMayra Villatorojefelab@mem.gob.gt
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
United StatesBerkeley, CaliforniaAshok Gadgilgadgil@ce.berkeley.edu
Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology
TanzaniaArushaK.N. Njaukaroli.njau@nm-aist.ac.tz

Nyabyeya Forestry College
UgandaMasindiJackson Mutegekijmutegeki@gmail.com

Renewable Energy Testing Station
NepalKathmanduRoshan Parajuliroshan@retsnepal.org

SNV Netherlands Development Organisation
Congo, Democratic RepublicKinshasaXavier Castellvixcastellvi@snvworld.org

Solar Cookers International
United StatesSacramento, CaliforniaJulie Greeneinfo@solarcookers.org
Stove Testing Center
BoliviaLa PazMarcelo Gorritymgorrity@gmail.com
Sustainable energy Technology and Research Centre (SeTAR)
South AfricaJohannesburgHarold Annegarnhannegarn@gmail.com

Technology Consultancy Centre, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST)
GhanaKumasiMichael Kweku Commehkwekumichael@gmail.com
The Centre for Study and Research on Renewable Energy (CERER)
SenegalDakarIssakha Youmiyoum2@yahoo.fr
The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI)
IndiaNew DelhiPerumal Ramanpraman@teri.res.in

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
United StatesResearch Triangle Park, North CarolinaJim Jetterjetter.jim@epa.gov
Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, (UNAM), Laboratorio de Estufas Mejoradas (LEM-CiEco)
MexicoMorelia, MichoacanVictor Ruizvictor_ruizgarcia@yahoo.com
University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
United StatesUrbana Champaign, illinoisTami Bondyark@illinois.edu

University of Nairobi
KenyaNairobiJacob Kithinji Petersjacobkithinji@yahoo.com

University of Nigeria
NigeriaNsukkaCosmos Anyanwucnasofia@gmail.com

University of the Philippines Diliman
PhilippinesQuezon CityMylene G. Cayetanombgonzaga@gmail.com
University of Washington Clean Cookstoves Lab
United StatesSeattle, WashingtonJonathan Posnerjposner@uw.edu
Zamorano University Improved Stove Certification Center
HondurasTegucigalpaVictoria Alejandra Cortes Matamoros vcortes@zamorano.edu